Storms below. So above.

Storms below. storms above.

At 5:10 a.m. EDT on September 6 (0910 GMT), an X-class solar flare — the most powerful sun-storm category — blasted from a large sunspot on the sun’s surface. That flare was the strongest since 2015, at X2.2, but it was dwarfed just 3 hours later, at 8:02 a.m. EDT (1202 GMT), by an X9.3 flare, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Space Weather Prediction Center (SWPC). The last X9 flare occurred in 2006 (coming in at X9.0).

A CME struck Earth’s magnetic field during the late hours of Sept. 6th..





more.. http://spaceweather.com/..

Comment on this post and start a conversation that matters